A moment to ponder…

Posted: June 30, 2009 in Random thoughts/blogs

( I wrote this for our magazine when I was in college. I was a junior then. I miss school and all the drama that goes with it…)

The night is beginning to fall. For most of the people, it marks the end of their day and yet for some, it is but a day yet to be embraced. Unfortunately, i belong to the latter. I paced back and forth at the ward as the minutes passed by watching the people in agony, hearing their pleas and cries and even worst, witnessing them grasp their last breaths. On the way home, l humbly pray for a ride and wishing that I could hop on a jeepney and pay less rather than taking a cab and adding trauma to my pocket. As the jeep took me home, my heart longs to help the poor souls selling their bodies, enslaving their souls to debauchery for a price that’s not even good enough to feed their respective families. Upon setting on the grounds of my resting place, I examined myself closely and discovered what a mess I have done to myself. My uniform with a couple of red dotted stains and much even worst, my pantyhose with splash of mud on it. Oh! How people in white dread it when the clouds can’t bear its weight anymore and starts to pour. Having been changed and cleaned myself, I go and get my tummy something to devour. After all, who wouldn’t be famished after a night’s duty? Nursing life never promises a good night sleep. The first day of duty bombarded me with never ending, lengthy and routine requirements which include the undying and everlasting physical assessment, the added OB history, a copy of the teaching plan( which you probably would do) and the very much anticipated drug studies( you bet you’re lucky when your patient only has 1 or 2 drugs). The worst part of it is that it has to be handwritten! While writing all of these requirements diligently, I prayed that my pen would still endure all the challenges that it has to go through. I write and scribble ’til my pen bleeds to death and my hand eventually wears out and the next thing I know is that I already dozed on the table, my head on the pages of my book (my neck gets stiffed too, unfortunately), my pen drop dead on the floor, heard the cock crow and my mother’s voice greeting me a good morning and asking if I might want to transfer to my room. The idea is really tempting and but then I remembered that we still have a long NCM exam this afternoon. I stood up, still yawning, got my book, placed it under my pillow and pray that osmosis would follow through and slumbered to bed. It’s almost noon when I woke up and I really needed to hurry because my class is going to be at 1. I hurriedly took a bath, changed and went to school to finish my requirements. When I got to our room still with my lids heavy, my body rebelling and my mind going in circles not knowing where to start, everyone was doing the same thing. I could see that tired, beaten look on some of my colleagues who just came from the hospital and the drowsy, I-still-need-to-sleep look at my classmates’ faces who’s also on night duty (dark circles under eyes noted!). After class, we go on duty again and the cycle continues for like 2 weeks. This is just a typical routine day for a junior nursing student of CNU.

student life

They say your third year life is the toughest in your career as a nursing student. You bet it really is! Maybe you can attest to that. You say hello and warmly greet major fields of study like NCM 101 and 102, Pharmacology, Health Strategies and Psychopathophysiology. You get to take a more than a hundred item ordinary exam that you haven’t even dreamed of having one in your earlier years. It’s really tiresome. The subjects are getting more demanding and strenuous, the lessons immense and lengthier and the concepts more intricate. Most of the time, I feel like I’m on the verge of breaking down and asking myself why I took up nursing. But I constantly remind myself that “I am not a QUITTER!” After all winners don’t always have to come first. They are the ones who never acknowledge quitting as a part of their vocabulary, played fairly and stuck with the rules of the game.

It is also during this level that you get to know your clinical instructors more personally and professionally. Some tend to be austere, stern and uncompromising. Well, they have their own reasons and whatever that may be, let’s just face it, it’s still for our greatest benefit. Some tend to be softhearted, tolerant and motherly which is indeed beneficial to most of us. Level 3 is the perfect time to bond with your C.I.s and ask for professional advices and counseling.

What makes it even more exciting is that you get to know your classmates better (especially your group mates). You get to see them in their ups and downs, get to share all those rowdy laughters and tears. You also get to listen to their never-before-heard-of-stories of their families, adventures and experiences. Together, your group conquers mountains, seasides and depressed areas and even horizons. You win the people’s hearts in the community with your one, ultimate weapon- your BP apparatus coupled with the charisma that’s innate within. You get to taste what life is in the community. You get a share of the mud. You get your taste buds trapped with their all time delicacies like taho, etc and later on realize that your group has already catched an epidemic(a diarrhea for that matter). You organize health education classes, advertising it to the ends of the earth and yet end up having your group mates as majority of your audience and of course consuming the snacks with the help of the cute little kids who are also your no.1 zealots in the area.

But what really adds spice into our present nursing lives is when we become witnesses of babies coming to life. It always excites and enthralls me when a mother is about to give birth. It makes me realize how enticing and splendid the human body is. Upon hearing the newborn’s cry, the sound just seeps into your spines and you can’t just believe that it really is alive and kicking and it did actually came from the mother’s toot..(you know what I mean). Slowly, you begin to fathom the wonders and mysteries of childbirth and make you realize the pain and the agony that your mother had to go through just to bring you to life. A unique feeling of joy and bliss seems to fill your heart seeing an angel being brought here on Earth.

It’s still a year to go until we hit that aisle with our heads up high. It’s still a long way to the finish line. Yes! Struggles and challenges will come our way. To get it straight, nursing never promises a storm free life. Let’s never quit, keep up with the pace, take the opportunity to learn and invest in our minds in every known way and continue to hold on to our dreams. And one more thing, let’s continue to live up to our greatest legacy, our most loved motto- ‘care using knowledge and compassion’.

Leave a Reply

